January 11, 2013 New Moon Ritual

Today is my first New Moon ritual. I will recognize this day (and all future New Moons unless I change the ritual) by fasting for 12hrs. The purpose of fasting will be to remember how blessed I am with food the God and Goddess provide and that there are others on Earth who live with less during their day. I plan to donate money to a charity organization on New Moon days as well (based on available funds; today, I donated $5 to the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention). For myself, I will write down every negative thought or event I’ve had recently which has sat and festered in my mind and then I will destroy it. The New Moon is a new start and I will start with a clean slate mind. I will then write down a goal which I wish to achieve by the Full Moon.

Today, since I wish to destroy my negative thoughts, I will leave them off this blog. I will simply write down my goal for this lunar period.

My goal is to give a positive blessing prayer to one person every day through the next Full Moon Day. This one person will be a non-family member.

I added non-family member because I wish to spread my blessings beyond those I immediately love to those who are friends or even strangers who may need a positive energy boost. This is perhaps akin to spiritual charity. A free giving of spiritual peace and comfort to another human being. Of course I can do this for family as well, but I’m specifically directing myself to think about people beyond my family to expand my spiritual connections with my fellow man and woman.

So for some of you followers of my blog out there…a blessing may come your way and if it does, I hope it makes your life just a little bit brighter or provides you with what you need in your life when you need it.

-moon-a

Source

2 thoughts on “January 11, 2013 New Moon Ritual

  1. Pingback: The Power of Prayer Never Ceases to Amaze Me | My Spiritual Discovery

  2. Pingback: January 26, 2013 Full Moon Ritual | My Spiritual Discovery

Leave a Reply

